This exhibit showcases the history of library service on the Chester Campus throughout the institution’s history. Focusing on each of the three buildings that have housed the library over the years, the exhibit includes documents and pictures that tell the story of each building and the services provided.
From 1868 - 1952, the library was located in Old Main. As the collection continued to grow, the need for a new library building became paramount. Construction of a new library began in 1948 and, after many delays and the need for more funds, the Pennsylvania Military College Memorial Library debuted in 1952. This two-story Georgian structure brought great promise, but only 13 years later, the building could no longer serve the growing student body or adequately support new academic programs. The university broke ground for a new library building in 1968, and the unique triangular-shaped Wolfgram Memorial Library opened in 1970. It has remained at the center of academic life for over 40 years, embracing new technology to support Widener University’s curriculum and providing a legacy of excellent service to students, faculty and staff.
INSTRUCTIONS: When in this collection, click on “Browse All” to see the entire exhibit.